Plant a seed of niceness

24 Jan

As I was brainstorming what my first blog post would be about, I was procrastinating searching for ideas on Twitter. While I follow my favorite celebrities and just about every person I have ever met, I also follow my fair share of actually beneficial “Tweeps.” I love to find little precious morsels on Twitter that can truly brighten my day.

Little did Chick-fil-A Leadercast know, I would be reminded that it really is about the small things you do for people.  This video of Linda Kaplan Thaler talks about how Aflac went from a nothing company in Columbus to a household name, merely because of a man saying “thank you” in a big way.

Oddly enough, I worked at this Leadercast event for a UGA organization but wasn’t able to see Kaplan Thaler speak. Fortunately, my recent job offer/accepted position at a PR firm that does social media for Leadercast has led me back to this video – and I sure am thankful.

It’s incredible to know that without any hair off her back, Kaplan Thaler was able to impact someone’s life in such a positive way – that one seed of niceness eventually bloomed into the biggest thank you that she could ever imagine. With it, bloomed Aflac’s enormous success.

The great thing about all of this is that she had no idea it would ever come around to benefit her in the end. She didn’t agree to lunch for any greatness of her own. There was nothing truly in it for her. She merely did it to be nice and help someone out.

Now, as I watch this video, I am truly impacted in knowing that “being nice really is all it’s quacked up to be.”

It makes me wonder… who will you take to lunch today?

5 Responses to “Plant a seed of niceness”

  1. Chip Carnes January 24, 2011 at 2:32 am #

    Wow Lauren! Really made me think!

  2. Amanda McMillan January 24, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    Proud of your first post 🙂

  3. Joan Locher January 24, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    I like it!!! Way to go Locher – your first post already gets us all thinking about “it’s nice to be nice”!!

  4. Dr. James Locher January 24, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    You never know what effect something you say or do may have on another person, but as my mother would say, “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.”

  5. Lori Carnes January 24, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Made me think back on my day – who did I encounter? and how did I respond to them?
    Good job Lauren!!!

Leave a Reply

