Thank you notes say it all

1 Feb

Ever since I was old enough to write, my mom always encouraged me to send thank you notes to everyone who gave me a present for the holidays. From the millions of Beanie Babies in one box for obscure holidays like Valentine’s Day, to the $5 bill and a card for Christmas – everyone was to be thanked.

Photo by: William Arthur Fine Stationery

Later in life, I became (and still am) a stationary addict. I can’t turn down a good deal on cute stationary, even though I know I have stacks at home. Let me loose in places like Micheal’s and don’t expect the $1 section to look the same once I’m done.

It must be because I never want to send a thank you note on the same stationary to the same person more than once. The boyfriend laughed when I insisted upon sending his little sister blank note cards while she was counseling away at camp. Fortunately, she loved them equally as much as I did (ok, maybe not equally.)

However, now I can justify my stationary obsession because I just recently I read an article that reminded me that thank you notes should be “heartfelt and handwritten.” Both are made possible by having an abundance of note cards at the ready.

What a way to make someone’s day – send a thank note for something, anything, even if they would never expect to be thanked for it.

The possibilities are endless – your brother, the mailman, the Publix cashier or your long-lost best friend. I bet you’ll be thankful you did!

4 Responses to “Thank you notes say it all”

  1. glamazonguide February 1, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    I love love love stationary as well. Although sadly I have no monogrammed cards when I think about. Going to have to get on that!

  2. iapender February 8, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    I also have a stash of thank you cards that seems to grow rather than dwindle! I like the idea of one thank you note a day. I might just adopt the 365 challenge, or at least write one a week.

  3. Lauren Locher February 8, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    I think one a week is definitely feasible! Let me know how it goes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I’m Loving Right Now « Nice Ideas - June 21, 2011

    […] Mail – As you may remember here, I hoard collect stationary because I not only love sending notes, but I love receiving them, too. […]

Leave a Reply

