DIY Valentine’s Present

6 Feb

Happy Superbowl Sunday!

As I sit watching the game (and enjoying the  commercials) I decided I would fill you in on a great Valentine’s Day gift for the significant other. If you’re anything like me, you would ten times rather give a handmade gift than a store-bought one. However, it can be tough to come up with endless gifts when you have been dating, engaged or married for a long time. It’s even harder when Christmas is in December, the boyfriend’s birthday is in February and then Valentine’s Day is a week later.

On my hunt initially for a Christmas present, I came across this blog post from YoungHouseLove.com (my idols in DIY & home improvement). They used it for Thanksgiving, I used it for Christmas and now you can use it for Valentine’s Day or for really any holiday where a present is required. I totally geeked out when I saw this post and could not wait to try it for myself.

Enter: the Fun(d). As a college girl dating a guy in medical school, money is tight. Surprise! This way, we have designated money that we set aside whenever we feel like we can. This money can and will only be used on fun things for us to do together that we couldn’t otherwise justify spending the money on. The original plan was to save up for a visit to NYC to see my sister. Expensive, but so much to look forward to, especially when it will (hopefully) seem like free money by the time we get to take a break and fly up there.

Unfortunately, I did not have my camera with me to take pictures of the process, so I will give you directions on how to create this lovely bit of fun:

What you need:

  • Any glass container you want
  • Armour Etch Cream
  • Small paintbrush
  • Painter’s tape or contact paper
  • Exacto knife
  • Cutting board
  • A little money
  • Colorful paper

How to: (may seem long, but really actually super easy!)

  1. Choose a font that is bold enough and large enough to easily Exacto-knife it out of the paper.
  2. Type Fun(d) or any other word you want to etch into the glass and print. Don’t worry if you have to print a couple different sizes or fonts to get the exact look you want.
  3. Stick the painter’s tape or contact paper to the cutting board, making sure to get rid of any bubbles.
  4. Tape the printed word (I’ll use “Fun(d) for the sake of easiness) on top of the painter’s tape. I used a couple extra pieces of tape around the edges to make sure the word would fidget or budge while I was Exacto-knifing.
  5. Carefully cut the black letters out making sure you go all the way through the paper and the tape. This will create your “stencil.”
  6. Once you have cut out all of the letters, very slowly peel back the stencil off of the cutting board. Careful. The first time I tried to make the Fun(d) I lost the d). Yikes.
  7. Stick the new “stencil” to the glass. My suggestion is to check out local thrift stores or places like Marshall’s. I scored 4 various sized glass containers for $10 total at TJ Maxx. Totally worth it.
  8. Apply a thick amount of Armour Etch where the black letters used to be. (Warning, don’t get it on your hands. This is meant to essentially burn through glass. No need to burn through your skin, too.) You can find Armour Etch at Michael’s and get it for pretty inexpensive when using a coupon. I never buy anything at Michael’s without a coupon, by the way.
  9. Let the cream sit for about a minute according to the bottle about 5 minutes or until it looks like the cream is eating away at the tape. Then wash it off with water and remove the tape. Voila!
  10. Admire your lovely work, put in some money, adorn with a bow and come up with a few ideas of things you would like to do. Write them on little sheets of paper so you can “check” them off when you finally save up enough money in the Fun(d).

I hope this helps you with a little inspiration for a DIY Valentine’s gift! Plus it makes a nice little mantel decoration!

7 Responses to “DIY Valentine’s Present”

  1. Joan February 7, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    I love the Fund idea – – good thinking and very practical I must say!!!

    • Lauren Locher February 7, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

      Thanks! It’s turning out quite well and adding up slowly but surely!

  2. hthom77 February 15, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    thanks for the fondue recipe! it’s been forever since I made that (the last time was in high school French class) and I love that stuff. cute blog–very inventive with all kinds of interesting ideas.

    • Lauren Locher February 15, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

      Thanks, Hannah! I love the pictures on your blog too. Hopefully I will give some ideas for you to use too!

  3. Jill February 16, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    i Love the green color of that room! Is that you and your boyfriend’s house ? If it is i wanna see more pictures!

    • Lauren Locher February 17, 2011 at 8:24 am #

      Hi Jill!
      Thank you so much! It’s actually my room in my house – built in the 1920s. It’s an awesome old house with tons of character. I’ll be posting more pictures of a “tour” soon! Stay tuned…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas Doormat « Nice Ideas - November 24, 2011

    […] You can find them at Home Depot. As I’ve done before with the Fun(d), I created a stencil out of paper. Since I didn’t have an Exacto knife handy, I just very […]

Leave a Reply

