Archive | 11:35 pm

I pledge to Live Financially Thrifty

22 Feb

So, as I have mentioned before, being a college student definitely lends to an “on a budget” lifestyle. Although I do have two part-time jobs, all of that money goes immediately to pay the rent for my sweet Hartford house, bills and food (which I love a lot, as you can/will see over the course of this blog).

The mission

However, being a college student definitely also keeps me in the know about what awesome things are going on in Athens/at UGA. I recently discovered the Live Financially campaign that has been taking over The Classic City. Originally I saw the campaign come to life on Twitter and Facebook before really realizing what it was. I later had the opportunity to get to know a little more about the campaign and seriously think that Athens could not be a better place for this team to be executing it.

According to their Facebook page, Live Financially is a community-based grassroots movement to inspire Athenians to take charge of their personal finances. The goal of the campaign is to encourage people to define their financial goals and practice personal finance skills to achieve them.

I have been following their “Daily Tips” for February to remind myself to be financially thrifty and here are a few of my favorites:

1. Record all of your purchases: Sometimes I can lose track of how often I eat out since I have such a busy schedule. By doing this I can monitor where my money is going and hopefully spend it more wisely.

2. Replace your incandescent lightbulbs: Save $56 over the course of the lightbulb’s life? Heck yes. Who cares if it’s a bit more expensive to start, that’s totally worth it. Plus, it saves our precious little Earth.

3. Free entertainment is the best entertainment: It’s so true. It makes you feel better about going out to do something fun when you know it’s not putting a dent in your wallet. Also, discounted entertainment is definitely another way to go, if you really want to do something that costs a bit (more on that to come in a future blog post!)

And here is some free entertainment from the team – I highly recommend checking out the other “Suggested Videos” because some are seriously funny:

Those are just a few of their many awesome ideas to save money!

And guess what… if you want to learn more about how to Live Financially Aware, you can check out their free financial workshop at the ACC Library on Baxter St. on Feb. 26 at 2:30 pm.

So, what do you think are the best ways to be thrifty?