Pay It Forward

25 Feb

First thing that comes to my mind about Random Acts of Kindness… the movie Pay It Forward. Where Haley Joel Osment takes on the challenge to change the world by paying forward a favor to three people, rather than back to one.

Ever since that movie I have always been a huge proponent of Random Acts of Kindness, or RAKs for short. They make the person’s day and ultimately make your day for making someone else’s day (as I make you confused with all of this “making”).

All in all, that’s a win/win!

There is an organization called the “Random Acts of Kindness Foundation” where people can share their stories about RAKs and also get ideas of RAKs for other people. As I was looking through them, I realized how often I witness RAKs or benefit from them.

So here is my RAK story of the week that you can adapt for people in your life:

On Monday, I woke up in the middle of the night very nauseous and with a horrible sore throat. I also had awful dreams, so needless to say, I didn’t get a whole lot of good sleep. After class, I left immediately for work. When I arrived, there was a little surprise on my desk!

My boss, Brittany, brought everyone in the office a Starbucks Iced Caramel Macchiato! I had never had one before and if you haven’t either, let me just tell you: it was divine. Running on no sleep and having a rough day, there was nothing better than being reminded that someone was thinking of me. Just what I needed!

Photo courtesy of Jessica Henry's mad iPhone picture-taking skills.

It reminded me of how much fun it is to be the receiver (and the giver) of RAKs. I absolutely love to surprise people with little gifts or notes when they least expect it. I think my favorite RAK is probably the easiest of all time… receiving a nice “hello” or a smile from someone who I don’t know. Kind of like when people don’t even realize they are doing anything for me by having a huge smile while they walk through campus. But, you know what they say: smiling is contagious!

It makes me want to be intentional with “paying it forward” by passing on the RAK to someone who needs it. You never know who really needs a good smile on their face that day.

I’m making a list of people to pay it forward to, but I’m open to suggestions!

What are the best RAKs you have ever received? Or given for that matter?

3 Responses to “Pay It Forward”

  1. Hammad March 2, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    I’m diggin’ it.

    • Lauren Locher March 2, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

      Thanks Hammad! Hope you’re having a good week!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m a MacBook Pro. « Nice Ideas - March 30, 2011

    […] that I didn’t love the random day I got to babysit the Little Monkey or the day we all had a coffee party in the office.) See my excitement and new baby here: Way to make my life, […]

Leave a Reply

