Easy Bulletin Board Crafting

30 Apr

As you may have discovered by now, I absolutely love crafting, thoughtful gifts and surprising people. So when I recently was surprised with a new MacBook Pro from my bosses at See.Spark.Go (haha, that rhymes), I was:

1. So thrilled (my poor little old MacBook was a serious struggle)

2. So surprised (I was expecting them to whip out a new office printer or Keurig or something. Not a MacBook Pro for me)

3. Determined to thank them in a special way (but without breaking the bank)

We would soon be expecting two awesome clients in town for the week, so we were finalizing our office decorations. My bosses had been complaining about the empty shelves in the intern office for weeks, so I instantly decided I would surprise them with something that was special to See.Spark.Go, could be functional and could add a pop of color.

I present to you: a bulletin board!

I started with just a plain bulletin board, some orange and white paint, a paint brush and a very steady hand.

While I’m no artist, I set out to hand-draw our logo in the center of the board. I wasn’t expecting DaVinci or anything of the sort, but was pretty pleased with how it turned out. It didn’t hurt that I had this little guy to model for me:

The foster dog I was watching the night o'crafting... absolutely precious

Fortunately, I had a thank you notecard and an Athens, I Love You sticker to cover the mess-ups.

When I was finally finished painting and (hair)drying the board, I carefully placed it in my car to drive to my boss’ house. Even though I may have interrupted a family party, they were thrilled to see something designed with their logo on it (and couldn’t believe my art skills, might I add).

Here the board is in its new home with our wonderful spring interns, Maureen and Hannah!

I couldn’t be happier that the gift meant a lot to my bosses and would actually be used for a great purpose, rather than just wasting space in a junk drawer. They absolutely love it, and I love being able to brighten our office walls!

So do you have any ideas for functional, fun-to-make crafts? Any of you ever re-purposed a bulletin board? Share your secrets!

2 Responses to “Easy Bulletin Board Crafting”

  1. coloremily May 3, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    I LOVE THIS. Such a fun and easy way to make a colorful statement!

    • Lauren Locher May 3, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

      Thanks, Emily! It does add a nice pop of color to the room!

Leave a Reply

