Homemade Shrimp and Grits

13 Jul

Where the shrimp & grits obsession began

Ever since a UGA football tailgate last fall when the boyfriend’s mom made shrimp and grits, I’ve been dying to give them a go. I figured: you mix some shrimp, grits and cheese… can’t be too difficult. Right?

Good news: I was right! And as my mother would say, this recipe is “so easy.” But unlike my mother, I have an actual recipe written down for you.

Ingredients:
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tbsp. chicken granules (or 2 chicken bouillon cubes)
  • 1 1/3 cup quick grits
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1 lb. shrimp, chopped (this can be the frozen cooked kind in a bag to make it easy)
  • 1/2 cup cheese, shredded (I used cheddar but you can use whatever you have)
  • 1 1/2 cups parmesan cheese, shredded
Steps:
  1. Spray a large pot with non-stick spray. Bring water to a rolling boil and add salt.
  2. Stir in grits slowly and add chicken granules. Bring to heavy boil for 3 minutes. (Warning: the grits will get bubbly and pop out and burn you, so keep it on medium heat and stir… and wear protective gear…)
  3. Add cream and boil again.
  4. Add shrimp and, you guessed it, boil again.
  5. Turn off heat, cover and set aside. When you’re ready to serve, reheat and stir in the cheeses.
It really is as easy as that! While I didn’t take a picture, I did take a bowl to my See.Spark.Go bosses for a late night snack because it made so many portions! And the best part about it was that since I am playing the “clean out the fridge” game, this only cost me $3.89 to make! Delicious cooking on a budget!
Do you have any recipes that are simple and a classic like this one?
2 Responses to “Homemade Shrimp and Grits”

  1. Brittany July 14, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    I can vouch that this dish is incredibly delicious! Thanks for the late-night and, er, mid-morning snack!! šŸ™‚ YUMM! Can’t wait to make this recipe myself – so glad you included it on your blog!

    • Lauren Locher July 14, 2011 at 11:21 am #

      Thanks, BT! You will be my designated taste-tester for any new recipes! Can’t wait to see how it turns out for you.

Leave a Reply

