Rehearsal Dinner Planning

18 Sep

About a week ago we hit the six month mark for the wedding. Six months! I can’t wait! Although six months usually means that the save the dates are being sent, we haven’t quite gotten there.

One of my close friends, Jessica, will be taking our engagement photos in early October, so we will work on those in the next month or so. Instead, we have been working on other details of the wedding and, particularly, the rehearsal dinner.

Well, let me rephrase that: Chip’s mom has been working on the rehearsal dinner. In fact, she wants it to be a complete surprise, so I’m pretty excited to see what she has been scheming up.

Now, if you know me at all, you know that I love to plan anything and everything. Therefore, it’s a little out of the ordinary for me to only know a couple things about the night, like:

1. It’s Spanish themed – since we met in Spain on our study abroad trip

2. It is at Chip’s house in Duluth

However, at home this weekend, Chip’s mom mentioned she has been having the hardest time finding an invite design for the dinner. Naturally, I stepped in. (Hey, it was my one chance to be involved!) She ultimately was thrilled because this is what we came up with:

A flamenco dancer and guitar player. Both were scanned from a ceramic tile that Chip and I picked out for his mom in Spain.

Then I did some serious surgery (aka cutting very carefully) to create our very own Spanish themed invite.

Blacked out area is where the address will be...

I was so proud of the fact that I made this in Powerpoint in about an hour. Yes, Powerpoint. Also, I felt super nostalgic when I realized that the “&” symbol on the invite reminds me of this:

This is Sevilla’s symbol to say that “Sevilla has not left me.” It’s definitely true, considering it subconsciously came back in our Spanish themed rehearsal dinner invite!

Now that I have had my fill of helping plan the night, I can’t wait to see what it all looks like in the end!

So, what have you seen done for a rehearsal dinner in the past?

2 Responses to “Rehearsal Dinner Planning”

  1. Charlotte | livingwellonthecheap September 19, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    So exciting! I LOVE that your RD will be at a family home! Ours was at a local
    B&B and I loved that it felt like we were at someone’s house (since there were no actual family homes, other than mine, within an hour of our ceremony venue). And the reference to Spain is so sweet!

    • Lauren Locher September 21, 2011 at 11:54 am #

      We really are so excited about it being a bit more personal than just in a fancy restaurant! That’s so not our style. I love the B&B idea – in fact, we even looked into having the wedding at a B&B at one point!

Leave a Reply

