Easy Parmesan Knots

25 Sep

This past week I was in charge of bringing a snack to our couples small group. I knew that I wanted to give something new a try from my Pinterest recipe board, but there are just so many delicious looking options, that I had a hard time deciding (surprise).

I have recently been trying to put my Pinterest finds into action, rather than just oogling over how fabulous everything looks. My first recipe attempt, the Baked Pesto Chicken, turned out great. It also lasted me a few meals, which is always a win.

For this particular snack, I chose to make Easy Parmesan Knots, adapted from this recipe. Surprisingly easy and fancy looking, they were a huge hit! One fellow small grouper even said, “With some warm marinara… I could eat like 16 of these.” Sweet.

Here’s the breakdown for these little babies:

1. Roll the refrigerated biscuit dough (preferably the Pillsbury Golden Layers kind for delicious flakiness) into a 12 inch rope. I had my handy-dandy Mickey Mouse ruler by the baking sheet to measure.

2. Tie each rope into a knot and tuck the edges under the knot, so the it bakes nicely and stays together.

3. Place the knots about 2 inches apart on a greased baking sheet.

The dough knots, not to be mistaken for doughnuts

4. Bake based on the directions on your refrigerated dough. Mine was at 400 degrees for about 8 minutes.

5. While the knots are baking into a golden brown color, mix together 1/4 cup canola oil, 4 tablespoons Parmesan cheese, 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt and 1 teaspoon dried oregano.

6. Take out the baked knots and brush each knot with the mixture. (Next time I would maybe stick them back in the oven for a minute to melt the cheese a bit.)

7. Bring them to your next Italian gathering for rave reviews.

I’m already plotting my next plan of attack with these. I’m thinking Cinnamon Sugar Knots would be fabulous with warm icing to drizzle. Yum!

Anyone have any easy recipes that have become group staples?

2 Responses to “Easy Parmesan Knots”

  1. Laura September 26, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    So glad you liked them!

    • Lauren Locher September 28, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

      They were fabulous and so easy! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

