Two ingredient pumpkin cupcakes

26 Oct

So I’ve been perusing Pinterest lately and oogling over all of the delicious fall recipes, ranging from sweet potatoes to hot chocolate and of course, pumpkins. I’ve come across this one pin about a “two ingredient pumpkin cake” a couple times and, to be quite honest, didn’t believe it at all, so just keep on pinning.

A couple weeks ago, a good friend of mine called me with the question… “Is it really only two ingredients?” just because she figured I would know the answer to that question or at least know the Pin she was talking about. (Is that sad that she figured I would know that Pin?… oh well!)

Originally, I told her that I was sure you had to use oil, etc., but then got curious and searched for the recipe online.

Guess what, people! This two ingredient thing is no joke! It really is two ingredients – and DELICIOUS!

I had to try it for myself to see what the hype was about and figured I’d test them out on the med schoolers. They had a rough week that week and could use a pick-me-up. So after making a delicious dinner with two friends, we ventured into:

Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cupcakes with Apple Cider Glaze (adapted from here)

1. Mix 1 can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling) and 1 box yellow cake mix for 2 minutes with a mixer. I actually couldn’t find the mixer, so instead mixed them with my hands. Messy, but awesome. Don’t worry med schoolers, I had clean hands.

(Also, feel free to taste test here, as there aren’t raw eggs in this mix!)

2. Put a spoonful into an ungreased cupcake liner. They will bake as they land, so place carefully. You can even see above that they were a little wonky shaped… but added to the character of the cupcake.

3. Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for about 22 minutes or until they are cooked through.

4. Poke small holes in the top with a fork.

5. Mix together 1 cup powdered sugar, 2 tablespoons apple cider and 1/2 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice. Baste the cupcakes with this glaze.

6. Let the original layer of glaze harden and seep into the holes in the cupcake. Baste a second time.

7. Sprinkle with powdered sugar for an extra sweetness.

Seriously, folks, these things are so delicious and healthy too! Come on. Pumpkin puree and apple cider. It’s practically like eating raw broccoli (kind of…).

Enjoy! And happy (almost) Halloween!

Are you doing anything fun for Halloween? I’m really craving some baked pumpkin seeds!

Leave a Reply

