Something old, something new…

8 Nov

This past weekend one of my closest friends got married! As a bridesmaid, I became the (un)official photographer for all of the events leading up to the wedding. It was awesome!

On Saturday, I couldn’t help but snap a few photos while we were getting ready to document the day how beautiful she was. As she got ready, it got me thinking about the “something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue” phrase. Her something old was an heirloom hanky, something new was the broach in her hair, something borrowed were the earrings her mom is putting on her in the photo and something blue was an embroidered hanky to tie around the stems of her bouquet with the wedding date, her old monogram and new monogram. I loved all of these and the sweet sentimental value behind them.

However, I am not sure exactly what to use for each of those on March 10… but I do know that I apparently have a “silver sixpence in [my] shoe” already waiting for me. I just recently found out about that end to the rhyme, but can’t find what the history behind it is.

If nothing else, I wouldn’t mind borrowing that broach for my something borrowed. It was gorgeous!

What are your suggestions for one of those “lucky” items for a bride?

6 Responses to “Something old, something new…”

  1. blisstwelvephotography November 8, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Hi! This is BlissTwelvePhotography and I love this entry! I just went to a wedding myself and they are so much fun! Anyways, I love your photos and my cousin and I just created our own blog about photography! If you would like you may comment, like, or follow our blog at blisstwelve.wordpress.com
    Thanks!
    BlissTwelvePhotography

    • Lauren Locher November 9, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

      Thank you! I’ll check it out! Best of luck!

  2. Charlotte | livingwellonthecheap November 9, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    That brooch IS gorgeous! A couple from Scotland that my parents know brought me a sixpence when I got married. They said every bride in Scotland has one. My something borrowed was a pearl studded hair accessory that two of my cousins wore in their weddings, my engagement ring is old (inherited from my grandmother), and on the day of my wedding I stitched a small blue flower in my undergarments to be my something blue.

    • Lauren Locher November 10, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      Charlotte, I’ve really been loving the pearl hair accessories lately! I think they are just classy and lovely! Not to mention that I love the fact that your ring is passed down – I would love to do that within my family one day long away!

  3. Sharlyn Vargas November 10, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Lauren! I realized that never officially congratulated you on your engagement and upcoming wedding!! (This is so rude, since I definitely love your blog and have looked through some of your engagement pictures /: ) So, Congratulations! haha I love all of your crafty ideas and I know you’re on pinterest, so you may have come across this idea:

    http://standineventplanning.tumblr.com/post/2864152770/a-few-posts-back-stephanie-posted-about-the

    The Bridesmaids use a blue marker/pen to write a sweet and short blessing on the bottom of the bride’s shoes.

    You can even use it to follow this Greek tradition:

    http://standineventplanning.tumblr.com/post/2513631690/we-all-know-the-something-borrowed-something

    Thought that was cute and different (: Best of luck and hope all is well!

    • Lauren Locher November 10, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

      Sharlyn! Thank you for your kind words! It has absolutely been so fun being able to plan the wedding and find fun things through blogs/Pinterest. I have definitely seen those fun ideas for the shoes and have something in mind similar to that! It should be fun!

Leave a Reply

