Christmas Doormat

24 Nov

Happy Thanksgiving, friends! As many people prepare for a feast this afternoon and Christmas decorating beginning tomorrow, I am preparing for Christmas decorating beginning Dec. 16.

As we near the closing on the house, I am doing any little things that I can to make it “ours” right off the bat. Although we know decorating and re-doing furniture will be an endless process, there are a few things I have in mind that will make it home-y and Christmas-y for the holidays.

I found the first project on this blog and just couldn’t pass it up. I knew that I wanted a way to welcome people into our new home, have some Christmas cheer and to describe the sentiment of how blessed we are. What better word than “joy“?

Not only is this super easy and festive, it’s also $5, so don’t be surprised if I switch them out for each season!

You can find these doormats at Home Depot, which we actually came across while registering.

(Side note: Home Depot really should get with the technology times. We actually had to write out each UPC code for what we wanted to register for and then the employee had to hand-key it in. It was tiring. We also tried Lowe’s since the fiance wanted Kobalt tools, but Lowe’s doesn’t even have a registry at all. Wouldn’t that be a gold mine for hardware stores in this crafty/DIY age? I think so!)

anyway… You can find them at Home Depot. As I’ve done before with the Fun(d), I created a stencil out of paper. Since I didn’t have an Exacto knife handy, I just very meticulously cut out the letters with scissors. As per the original suggestion, I used American Typewriter Bold. Font size was 440, in case you’re wondering.

Once the letters were cut out, I placed them in the proper spot on the doormat and taped them down. I also had a little help from the fiance’s family’s dog, Katie. She is quite the crafty pup.

I found that the tape didn’t stick very well on the doormat material, so I improvised and decided to use a Sharpie with the stencil as an outline for the letters. Worked nicely!

Then, with a small paintbrush, I simply filled in the letter outline with black paint. Be sure to get the paint down into the texture of the material for the most success.

Now, I just can’t wait to place this on my new front porch complete with a wreath on the door and rocking chairs on the side. I’ll post once it’s set-up so you can see the final product!

What Christmas touch do you recommend for any home?

3 Responses to “Christmas Doormat”

  1. Kim, Jeff and Kyle November 24, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    Lauren you are so crafty! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family! So glad to see all the “joy” in your life!!

    • Lauren Locher December 5, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

      Thanks, Falcon clan! Hope Michigan is treating you well! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The First Bridal Shower! « Nice Ideas - December 6, 2011

    […] you think that will just look perfect with the DIY Christmas Doormat? I can’t wait to hang it in only a couple […]

Leave a Reply

