The First Bridal Shower!

6 Dec

A couple weekends ago, my sweet (recently engaged) friend threw me a bridal shower with her mom and it was absolutely so fun. I really have realized now why people call them showers… because you just feel like you are being showered with love. I am so blessed and grateful for such amazing friends and family in my life!

Since she and another Hartford roommate just got engaged (!!! yes – half of Hartford is officially engaged!), I am taking notes on throwing bridal showers for them. It should be quite fun to host them in the new house once it’s up and running. Beth and her mom did an awesome job with the shower! Here’s a little recap:

A fun bridal shower game idea:

Bride JeopardyBeth asked me a series of questions ahead of time and split the party into teams. The teams were divided evenly to make sure that people from the high school years and college years where distributed well. Questions included everything from: “What is Locher’s favorite Pandora station?” to: “How long were Chip and Locher dating before they got engaged?” (“King of Anything” radio and a little over two years, by the way…)

The team who answered the most correct won a sweet little Starbucks prize! Yum! Plus, Beth was the perfect Alex Trebek.

Beth also asked me for photos ahead of time to put on a decorated cork board for all to see. Let’s just say that someone thought my eighth grade picture was my senior portrait… they could only see a difference in the bushiness of my eyebrows… ek.

Finally, we ate a delicious lunch and opened gifts! We got some pretty awesome things, including this incredible handmade burlap wreath that I’ve been eyeing from here!

Don’t you think that will just look perfect with the DIY Christmas Doormat? I can’t wait to hang it in only a couple weeks!

What is your favorite thing about wedding showers? Do you have any fun games to suggest? I’ve got to start planning for the friends!

4 Responses to “The First Bridal Shower!”

  1. Jenny December 6, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Ooh, I have a fun game. Everyone at the shower starts off with a clothespin. There is a list of words that you can’t say, and if you do, someone can take your clothespin. The person with the most clothespins at the end wins a prize. The words you can’t say are things like the bride’s and groom’s names, bride, groom, wedding, honeymoon, etc. It’s really fun to watch people try to ask questions without saying the “taboo” words.

    • Lauren Locher December 6, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

      I love that idea Jenny! Gets everyone involved and could get pretty competitive! Sounds like I would have a tough time winning. 🙂

  2. Cindy Austin December 6, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    So fun! I recognize those eyebrows! Wish I had been there but looks like Laura and Beth took good care of you!

    • Lauren Locher December 6, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

      It was so fun! We missed you. Can’t wait to celebrate with you at the bach weekend! Woo!

Leave a Reply

