Latest Kitchen Decor

12 Jun

Well, it’s been about 3 months since Chip and I got married and we are finally just getting a bit settled in our new home! Life has been absolutely fabulous, but oh so hectic. More than anything, we’re loving just finally being a team, married and starting our life together.

This past weekend was the first weekend since our wedding that we both have been at home for a whole weekend with no guests staying at our house. Whew… it was awesome! While Chip was studying (he is taking the 1st step of the boards next week), I decided I would begin to get back into my love of crafting with this little bunch of fun above our kitchen sink:

Total cost: $3.50 (heck yes)

I had everything on hand except for the Be Grateful print which I found here and printed at FedEx. I spray painted/recycled random frames from throughout the house and used the plastic, silver spoons from a bridal shower I threw.

The “Taste” was a wedding gift from my cousin and her boyfriend. He hand-crafted it in his school’s workshop out of scrap metal. Forever grateful. (See what I did there?)

The thought behind Chip and I choosing the word “Taste” was two-fold:

1. It’s in the kitchen. Simple as that.

2. It’s a reference to Psalm 34:8 – “Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.” It’s a great reminder for us each day to savor every moment in our new home together.

Overall, I feel pretty great about the newest addition to our kitchen and can’t wait to continue making our house a home! So many great things in store! Stay tuned for updates!

 

4 Responses to “Latest Kitchen Decor”

  1. Lisa June 13, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    Looks great! Thanks for linking back to us!

    • Lauren Carnes June 13, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

      Of course! Thank YOU for providing such fun printables. It was such a great surprise when I came across the blog. Looking forward to following along with you!

  2. Toodie July 7, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Really a nice grouping! I love that you did it frugally and I love the reference to taste. This is great!

    • Lauren Carnes July 8, 2012 at 10:53 am #

      Thank you! It was a ton of fun to put together and always a great discovery when you can find a free printable online.

Leave a comment